top of page

Let's talk about Burnout!

Recently I landed myself in a role as a program coordinator at a childcare service. Having worked with children across various age groups over the past 10 years, I find great joy in working with them- leading me to take this position. My passion however leans towards mental health and well being. To be honest, I had to start working as soon as I can, because I have to pay bills- Don't we all?'Geesh.


I embraced my mixed emotions before the commencement of this role. I told myself that I will get through this. Week 1 passed. I was overwhelmed, not by the children, but by the paperwork and responsibility. I started doubting myself. Yet again, I gave myself reasons to bear with the overwhelming emotions. By week 2, I found myself coming home exhausted. When I say exhausted, I mean both mentally and physically. I pushed myself to learn things fast so as to settle in my role well. Days and nights, I spent working. By week 4 , I knew I was not just feeling stressed, I was experiencing a burnout. I started feeling fatigue despite having sufficient sleep. I felt frustrated for little things - definitely wasn't PMSing. It hit me hard when I experience withdrawal symptoms. I dread going to work, despite loving to work with children.


So I sat down and reflect. I did not just have to deal with a job, but I was also sorting out my visa, counselor's registration and provisional psychologist registration. To top that of, I had to think of a way to pay off my loan - Good lord, studying ain't cheap! I realized then that I had quite a few on my plate to deal with, and was feeling overwhelmed


with all that. And because I was not practicing self-care, my system started 'crashing'. Just like myself, I am sure most of you would have been at that place at some point of time in life. Unlike antibiotics or prescribed medications, there is no same treatment that can be used generally. Personally, I started prioritising what had on my plate. I set boundaries for myself at work. I remind myself to leave work at work. I concentrated on myself- got myself a word search book, its amazing! And of course I indulge in food (not encouraging). What worked for me may not work for all. But here are some things you need to work on to deal with a burnout.


Explore your options and evaluate them. Set goals for yourself with boundaries. Take time to relax. Seek support when necessary. Hydrate yourself well and maintain a healthy diet. There are many ways to relax yourself. I have shared some of mine, so can you!


Remember "Burnout is a sign that something needs to change"



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page